Kids of the King

My life as a kid of the King

Who is your Fashion Inspiration?

4 Comments

Grace Kelly? Audrey Hepburn? Lady Gaga? The Olsens? Kate Moss? SJP?

Well for me… it is my seven year old Daughter. Yes I am totally serious.

She is adorable. ADORABLE!

Why is she my fashion inspiration? Well, this past week I have been noting her clothing choices. She dresses herself everyday – and she has lots of clothes to choose from – and some of the combinations she comes up with would make most adults laugh at the thought of wearing it themselves! She LOVES purples! So…. wearing a purple top, layered over another purple top (a different shade of course) paired with yet ANOTHER purple skirt makes total sense, right?

She also dresses in themes. One day she is Nancy Drew. So that means she needs a sleuthing kit and special dress and “matching” hat. Another – she is Blair from Barbie Charm School. So that means wearing a cardigan, skirt and her little brothers tie – and of course a side ponytail on top of her head!

 What I am getting at is: She wears what she wants, what she loves and she has fun with it! She isn’t worried about showing up at church in a purple dress that is 3 SIZES to big for her with a homemade masquerade mask (she was musketeer). She doesnt worry about what other people will think. She is happy expressing herself.

Wouldn’t it be nice if we could all have that attitude? Well I am going to start changing the way I dress. I am going to start wearing what I want, and what makes me happy. I am going to stop dressing to please other people and start dressing to please me! I love all sorts of styles and trends, I am not going to be a one flavour kinda girl!

Now I am going to go a hug my little inspiration and then get dressed in whatever crazy outfit I choose!!!

Have a great day!

~Kristen 🙂

(POST BLOG NOTE: After I posted this, my little fashion queen came out of her room with her socks on her hands, pants on her head and t shirt as pants…. she really is adorable and quite silly!)

4 thoughts on “Who is your Fashion Inspiration?

  1. She sounds adorable. When I was little I also dressed myself and my mother adored the cute little combinations I came up with! I guess even if people ‘might’ laugh at what you are wearing you just need to put a little confidence on and you are good to go… right? If you walk with confidence other will see that before they see your goofy ensemble. That is kind of my motto [one of many, that is].

    Thanks for putting a smile on my face and bringing back memories,
    Mary

  2. Love it!! Abby is definitely a fashionista in the making! And I totally agree, you should never dress to please anyone other than yourself! xx

    p.s. love the new look of your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

