Kids of the King

My life as a kid of the King

Do you remember where you were when….?

1 Comment

September 11th.

I remember talking to my dad years ago about where he was when JFK was shot. He was a little boy and was playing on the playground at school, and they announced it over the loadspeakers.  That seemed to be the moment in history that people would say “I will always remember where I was the day that…..”. I never thought that I would have one of those moments in my lifetime.

10 years ago, on September 11th, I was getting ready to go to my classes at the University of Victoria. My roommate starting yelling frantically from the downstairs as the news was playing the first of the planes to hit the towers. I remember thinking “This cannot be real”. I didnt go to classes that day. I still have a special printing from a newspaper that day. I still cannot watch a tv show, read articles or view pictures from 9-11 without tears pouring down my face. I PRAY that my children will never have a moment like that in thier lifetime.

Do you remember where you were when the world changed?

Comment and let me know.

One thought on “Do you remember where you were when….?

  1. Brandon came running into our bedroom saying “Wake up ! America is under attack! Wake up! It’s war !” I had a two week old baby and a one year old. I remember curling up on the couch with a blanket and watching the news for hours…. all the while praying that I’d wake up and find it had been a dream. On a side note, I had just finished the Clancy novel which tells a VERY similar fictional story. You’re right, Kristen. This is our Kennedy moment.

Leave a Reply

