Kids of the King

My life as a kid of the King

Quote.

Leave a comment

“Saturate me with the oil of Thy Spirit, that I may be aflame. Make me Thy fuel O flame of God”

~Jim Elliot (1927-1956)

I have had this quote up on my bulletin board for many years. For those of you who do not know who Jim Elliot was – I suggest you google him because his is a story that should be known. But here is a quick intro: Jim Elliot, Nate Saint, Ed McCully, Peter Fleming, and Roger Youderian were missionaries in the fifties who were attacked and speared by a isolated tribe called the  Huaorani. This was after making contact by flying over and dropping gifts. Even though this was a tragic event, what amazes me if the events that followed. Jim Elliots widow and Nate Saints sister continued evanglizing to these people and so did Nate Saints son and family. This resulted in many of this tribe coming to the knowledge of Christ and accepting salvation, INCLUDING those warriors who were involved in the killing of the men. Those five men were following the call of the Lord in thier lives, and yes they died to young, BUT what they did when they were here is more than many will do in a lifetime.

“God, I pray Thee, light these idle sticks of my life and I may burn for Thee. Consume my life, my God for it is Thine. I seek not a long life, but a full one, like you, Lord Jesus”

~Jim Elliot (1927-1956)

I always found these quotes hitting really close to my heart. It is amazing that even today I get the same feeling that I did many years ago. It is a longing. I long to be saturated with the Holy Spirit, I long to be on fire for the Lord and consumed by His presence. I read them and feel a spark igniting.

What quotes have affected your life? Please leave a comment and share with me and others.

Leave a Reply

