Kids of the King

My life as a kid of the King

Camp Crafts!

3 Comments

I spent last week at a WONDERFUL camp called the “Cowichan River Bible Camp”.  This is a place very dear to my heart. I have had so many life changing experiences there, and am so excited that my children will get to experience it as well.

This past week was the second Kids camp – which was for ages 7 through to 12. We had sooooo much fun! I was blessed to be the official “Craft Lady” for the week and all the crafts went REALLY well! I thought that I would let you know what we did!

Our first craft was a nice simple one! Picture Frames! I found some awesome frames at Michaels with really nice borders so there was a lot of room to decorate. We got out the paints, sticker, foam letters, foam shapes and gems and got decorating! They were all so unique and well done! Here is what my daughter did:

Our second craft was awesome!  Every kids camp the kids get tshirts and paint them , I decided to change it up this camp and we TIE DYED! Awesome!!! Tie dying with 70 kids can be a challenge for sure! BUT it worked well. We used plastic waterbottles with a small hole drilled in the top as our squirt bottles. It was perfect! Not only were we using something that was lying around, but it did not waste the dyes. Again, they all turned out different, which is the best part of doing tie dye! We put them in baggies and let them sit in the sun the next day. Then on the final night of camp the kids “went to town” with sharpies and fabric markers signing their names on each others shirts!

Our third craft was nice and simple. Friendship bracelets! They spent a long time making them and I even had a beautiful  green, blue and yellow one made for me! 

Our final craft was inspired by a fellow blogger at “the craft nest” (click to see her instructions). They were Tile Plaques. We used the supplies from the frame craft, as well as a bunch of scripture verses and phrases printed off the computer and glued them to a tile! (We had a whole box laying around the camp! SCORE!). Them we modpodged over them to secure and made glossy. I am still amazed at how different each one was, even though they were working with the same supplies!! Here are some examples that I did with my kids.

I really hope that I am asked to come back next year and do the crafts again! I am already collecting ideas and adding pages to my favorites list!!

So…. How is your summer coming along???

3 thoughts on “Camp Crafts!

  1. You’re right. The crafts were excellent. Everyone had a blast, and you were super relaxed, especially with all the paint flying around. Thanks for all the hard work. My craftless kids are looking gifted with their beautiful projects.

    • Awww THANKS Lindsay! Your kids are craftier than you think! I saw thier projects and they were super cool! Remember this – “Colour Matching Wise” LOL!

  2. Pingback: Summer Camp Crafts! « Kids of the King

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 577 other followers